The Little Fish : Parable

“Excuse me,” said an ocean fish.
“You are older than I, so
can you tell me where to find
this thing they call the ocean?”

“The ocean,” said the older fish, “is the thing
you are in now.”

“Oh, this? But this is water. What I’m seeking
is the ocean,” said the disappointed fish
as he swam away to search elsewhere.

**

He came to the Master in sannyasi robes. And he spoke
sannyasi language: “For years I have been seeking God. I have sought him everywhere that he is said to be: on
mountain peeks, the vastness of the desert, the silence of
the cloister, and the dwellings of the poor.”

“Have you found him?” the master asked.

“No I have not. have you?”

What could the master say? The evening sun was sending
shafts of golden light into the room. Hundreds of sparrows
were twittering on the nearby banyan tree. In the distance
one could hear the sound of highway traffic. A mosquito
droned a warning that it was going to strike….And yet
this man could sit here and say that he had not found God.

After a while he left, disappointed, to search elsewhere.

*

Stop searching, little fish. There isn’t anything to look FOR. All you have to do is LOOK.

The Song of the Bird – Anthony De Mello

This goes out to my best friend Alicia, this reminded me of what we were talking about yesterday in the park. ❤

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in parable
2 comments on “The Little Fish : Parable
  1. Gigi says:

    What a nice story! I’ve always said that people don’t realize all the wonderful and incredible things around them.

  2. I know, it only takes a moment to just look instead of worrying so much about what things we think we need to be worried about.

    Everything comes from that Absolute beauty, even you and I. 🙂

Leave a comment