How Do You Live A Good Life? There’s A Project For That.

jonathan fields good life project

image credit to jonathan fields

Hey guys, This isn’t one of my typical posts as I’ve sort of been in blog hiding. (with good reason 😉 but I just thought I should share something that has been on my heart lately. It has something that has kept me inspired. More and more movements are sprouting up and one of my favorite blogs that I follow created a new movement called the Good Life Project.

This movement is amazing when it comes to keeping one inspired in doing the thing that they love doing and making a living doing it. Many of us tend to want to stick ourselves in something where we aren’t particularly preferential to it and puts us in a very complacent area in our lives when we know there is more.

Our hearts are constantly wanting to expand, and to show its creative potential.

It’s not that we don’t want change, it’s that we don’t know in which way is the best way to go about it. This is where I think the Good Life Project comes in. Because it teaches us that it’s okay to suck at something, in order to be good at something. If you want to learn something, you aren’t always going to start by being good at it. So why not appreciate the stages of sucking just as much as the rewards of being really good at it the more you practice it. Be proud of your beginning efforts just as much as being proud of your end result.

It isn’t about the goal, but the journey that you took to get there that gives a deep fulfillment of life.

You have to enjoy what you do, and if being in a 9-5 job makes you happy then go for it! But if you’re like me and envision yourself working out of your home, working maybe 20 hours max a week and having all that extra time to spend with friends, family, and other creative minds to share with them your journey and stories then this project might be prime motivation for you.

Below I have a video of another one blog that I follow called Zen Habits which embraces zen in a practical manner. He used it to write many books, and kick many habits. He has a lot of insight into how he’s done it even with I believe 6 kids to his family (sorry Leo if I got the number wrong, yikes!)

So If you can find about an hour to watch this episode and inspire yourself to do something you LOVE.

Good Life Project Episode : Leo Babauta

I’m currently thinking about tackling a book which will be taking some from my blog posts as well as probably some extra content about how to take practical steps of pulling ourselves out of emotional darkness. At the end of 2012 was a big mark for me as people have been coming into my life like crazy giving me all kinds of shared experiences. And I feel that sharing our experiences with each other is very potent not only for others that may be where you were but also for teaching yourself more about you.

Living A Good Life Motivation

Leo Babauta in Zen Habits

Jonathan Fields Blog

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Philosophy
2 comments on “How Do You Live A Good Life? There’s A Project For That.
  1. rachel says:

    Thank you for writing today. I love the book idea and having been to the depths of emotional darkness, I think it is a topic that is not nearly discussed enough. Keep up the good work and the good life.

  2. zenkitties says:

    Hey Rachel,

    You’re so welcome. I think we both know and are going for that same goal of human connection between us. It’s important because it brings us together and helps us remember how connected we are (as in not separate). Our sharing of experience with each other is an act of expanding our love outward and to pull each other up.

    I agree, the subject isn’t discussed enough, and the fact that it isn’t means that there are sleeves to be rolled up and work to do. I want to bring people up to see where I see and to let them know of the many experiences I’ve had. It isn’t usually the “easy” path but it sure is a cure, over distraction.

    Thank you for sharing yourself with me today. I love your love. You keep up the good work too!

    -Nick

Leave a Reply

