Pay it forward! Give Sensation A Little Attention

waking up to impermanence meditationSorry for the non-updating that has been happening recently. There has been a mix of not being able to write where I am at right now due to my meditation practice.

Meditation was picked up recently again, in an attempt to come through a new door of awakening. That is the door of impermanence. This means that meditation falls under investigating our sensate reality at it’s bare feeling. Seeing what is going on at this bare minimal seeing allows the opportunity to see that all sensations WAKE UP to what they are. They are all equally enlightened to what they are in that moment. Therefore all are enlightened. There is not a who, who is mistakenly enlightened.

Again, I will state that there is not a who that is enlightened but a seeing of a sensation as being sensation, that the mistake in continuity gives the delusion of their being something separate from everything that is going on.

Yes continuity plays a big part in delusion of a separate self, and although harmless when seen, can hinder our progress in reaching Stream Entry or First Wheel Enlightenment.

For example in my meditation (I usually do 20-30 minute sessions for those that want to know) in which the breath is focused on. Even as something as “solid” as the breath will begin to show you something beautiful. I call these jerks in breath, which shows that breathing is actually not fluid. the jerk will indicate that the out breath dies, birth, dies, birth, dies, birth, etc. The breathing is impermanent. Also the fact that the breath is actually more than one sensation that make it up therefore is not as solid as what was once thought. cold sensation followed by a silk like sensation along the nostrils will indicate this as well as the thought that may or may not pop saying, “I am breathing in.” All of these and probably many other that I have not been able to discern involved what we call breathing or respiration.

What Meditation Practice is Best?

Well that’s a hard question to answer, but if you’re inquiring into the nature of impermanence, I would first start with concentration meditation. Which consists of following the breath by noting in when the breath can be felt going inward via the nostrils and out when out.

Count One when this breath cycle is done. and Repeat, and if distracted by a thought distraction, mental image, or the like and lose track… just simply pull your attention back, rejoice that you caught the attention and start at one again until reaching ten.

Once reaching ten breath cycles, start over. The better you get at concentration in this way, you will probably notice access concentration kicking in. In short it feels like when you are so focused on something, everything takes a back seat. For instances thoughts seem to be there, but do not distract you, or the sound of a fan may be there but again, in the background.

Do this for 20 minutes and see how well your concentration becomes.

Noting or Insight Meditation

One last thing I’ve been doing is noting sensation. Any sensation that comes into the sight is noted including thought. This is a mental sensation and deserves your loving attention! We aren’t worried about getting carried away by the contents of the thought or any other sensation on the body just noting and moving on.

When noting happens, insight follows into the impermanence of each sensation, that they only appear for but an instant and then they are gone. Noting is very beneficial for impermanence realization which I have been working on myself. the body has not made its recognition of the suffering, impermanence and discontinuity of it all, but all in do effort!

Why this may destroy you and allow access to you at the same time!

Once the insight takes over, it may cause a perceptual shift that is beyond what may be imagined. I don’t know, I haven’t gotten there. I’ve only awakened to the illusion of self, but working on stream entry is exhilarating! Things become “less sticky” as far as story of Nick is concerned.

If you are looking for more on the 3 Characteristics (No-Self, Suffering, Impermanence), I can suggest Daniel Ingrams books, Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha: An Unusually Hardcore Dharma Book. You can also get it free from his forum and wiki the Dharma Overground which explains the 3 Characteristics in detail! It also has a beautiful map of where one may be stuck in their progress of insight.

Anyway that is where I’m at and I thank you for taking the time to hang in there and enjoy my content. ❤

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Awakening
4 comments on “Pay it forward! Give Sensation A Little Attention
  1. msayers says:

    How ya doin’, ol’ boy? I wanted to put a picture here, but it didn’t work out. Here’s the link: http://ritakml.info/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/geek-meditation.jpg

    Every time I see the word meditate, I can’t help but hear Deepak Chopra’s voice. Him and Wayne Dyer.

  2. zenkitties says:

    Haha that definitely says how much of a techie mind there is over there Mikey boy!

    doing well just working on a buncha shit at the same time…. you know.. you ushe. 😛

    Working on some copywriting stuff, meditation and other good stuff as you can see. Its all in good fun. =]

    Hope everythings going well with you. I see your family is doing good, glad your daughter came out well. Blessings to you my hippy friend. 😉

  3. msayers says:

    Copy writing? Intrigued, I am. Yeah, meditation is GREAT for you! I should do it myself.

    And, yes, everything is wonderful with me. Amazing, actually. Jordan bounced back like nothing happened. Thanks for the blessings. Hippy? Me? 🙂

  4. zenkitties says:

    yep copy writing. I think it’ll suit me once I get in an area where I won’t have to have a full time job anymore haha.

    Hippy?! You?! Couldn’t be?!

Leave a Reply

