Living on your knees, A slave to some disease.

Over the past week, I’ve had one of Goo Goo Dolls songs stuck in my head not only because its a good song but because the lyrics are very perceptive. This is where I got the title of this post but there is also another lyric in here that kind of pops out at me here:

And you can look inside of me
but the answers that you seek
and everything you need
is all inside you.

So this is what I’ve been dealing with as of late, not so much seeing through my own conditioning as being nothing more of a fantasy but seeing these things in other people and how it affects them kind of irritates me. I think its more of a frustration that even some of my closest friends struggle with it and don’t see that they are creating it for themselves. (trust me, I struggle with it too or i obviously wouldn’t be writing about it. :P)

The irritation comes more from a feeling of me trying to point them to be aware that its something they are creating, and that gets this identity caught up in a different story. I know that all of it is meaningless and I don’t even know why i bother even trying to help people because it doesn’t help if they haven’t struggled enough with it to just give up the game. I mean I obviously haven’t struggled with it enough to give it up so why would other people want to quit it? Those are rhetorical, not to be answered, because there is no answer to those questions nor do they matter.

Mike said earlier in a reply to one of my posts that I do a good job of vomiting the egos story onto blog, whatever I’m currently dealing with and it looks like this is just another one of those. This is the story the ego has and it ties back into those lyrics that we seemed to be caught up in this thing, like a bird having a dream that its in flight but really, it’s been sitting in the cage its whole life.

That is us, in a nutshell, constantly living on our knees, a slave to some disease and in this case, it is a disease that we’ve created. Good thing there is a cure, in fact, we are the cure. It is so close if we just see it past all the “symptoms.”

Finally to end with the song that I have been raving about below, Enjoy!:

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in ego, Mind

Leave a Reply

