The Flow

I just recently came back from a vacation with my girlfriend from Disneyland… which was a blast considering that I haven’t had a very memorable endeavor at this theme park to date (my senior year really doesn’t count because i went on like 3 rides, and waiting in long lines the rest of the night as well as becoming extremely exhausted from staying up all night.) The last time that I had been to Disneyland was when I was three years old with my family which to me, I can’t remember many moments in my life that far back. The only thing I remember was being scared of the haunted house because the ghosties were hitchhiking and sitting next to me in the chair.

Anyway the reason why I bring up my vacation (not to show off) but to talk about flow, this is a re-occurring theme that I have spotted while my stay there. In particular it seemed to happen on Saturday a lot more then on Sunday to where I could detect it strongly. The flow is always there, regardless of whether you can see it or not happening. Some people call this flow synchronicity which is the process in which things seem to happen exactly in sync with each other to offer a very smooth day. Another example is a day in which everything seems to go your way, even traffic to and from work or to and from your destinations seem to parting ways to let you through. This definitely happened in the lines we were involved in having maybe a max of a 15 minute wait between rides at disneyland… on a saturday. We only had to get one fast pass for one ride but other than that, we pretty much walked on most of the rides and ended up riding probably 3/4ths of the rides there that night. It was really quite the pleasant experience, not having to worry about not catching a ride.

Not only this but a good example of the flow is seeing how things happen once you’re in the flow, like we would get in line for a ride way up in the front because there would be no line and then literally 2 minutes later, the line would be backed up for days. This happened on more than one occasion that day and I could help but laugh.

The flow really seems to be like pattern of play, and if you can spot the pattern you can spot the flow, and if you’re in the flow, you are not out of the flow, and for not being out of the flow things happen exactly in correlation to how they should. This doesn’t mean that things seem to happen correctly to YOUR standards but they happen for the best possible outcome. So I would even say the long lines, blah blah blah would seem to be the flow as well because that is where you’re suppose to be at that moment. Since her and I had the feeling that Saturday was going to be magical, it was, and we were rewarded for our intent to want to make it a magical experience. One more example was when World of Color (a new water show that Disney is promoting) was playing at 11:15pm for us and we had to be in a designated area at 10:30. We, however, needed to get one three more rides before the show started and my girlfriend was going to want to skip the show if we couldn’t do it. So we sent out intentions that we were indeed going to be able to get on all three rides before the show (we had maybe an hour before we had to meet) and so we set off on our journey for each ride, getting on and riding each one. The last one was the splash mountain. We made it to California Adventure exactly on time and finished all three rides we wanted to ride just in time.

What I’m saying that there is nothing else other than the flow, and intention has to be more on being within the flow rather than having other ideas of what you want to do instead of going with the flow. It just so happens that our intentions were within the plan or pattern of the flow and so it became a reward. The times that it is not a reward is when we have the expectation of something that go against what is, or not the flow and I’m calling it today, when these things happen, we suffer and become dissatisfied with the outcome. You cannot change the best outcome that is happening at this very moment, because it IS the best possible outcome, there is no other outcome that could be happening other than what is happening at this very moment.

You are this flow and to think otherwise is to try and be something you’re not and you know from personal experience that what happens when you try and be something you’re not brings about great hardships it seems (whether its emotional or physical).  When you are it great hardships still happen but you understand the pattern and therefore no longer become hardships for you rather flowing with the best outcome.

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in awareness
2 comments on “The Flow
  1. msayers says:

    Man, it’s been a loooong time since I’ve been to Disneyland! 33 years ago, matter of fact. Did the whole Universal City Studios thing too. Wow! Long time ago. It was a helluva long drive from San Jose, too!

    I dig what you’re saying about flow. I was so intrigued by it, I bought a book on it a dozen or so years ago. Here’s a sample: http://www.amazon.com/Flow-Psychology-Experience-Mihaly-Csikszentmihalyi/dp/0060920432#reader_0060920432

    And you’re right, your intention can make things flow a whole lot smoother, but it can also screw things up royally. “Go with the flow” is not an empty mantra.

    Glad you had a great time, Nick. My last trip to Disney World (Orlando) was MISERABLE! It’s damned HOT down there! Crowded too. What a mess. So glad to hear yours was much, much better. 🙂

  2. haha, man, when I was in Disneyland on the first day this post was bubbling inside of me and I had nowhere to release it because we were walking around the theme park for over 12 hours.

    I agree the intention can make things flow a whole of a hell lot smoother as much as they can just wreck things. There are alot of expectations involved with such thinking, but when you’re feeling the flow, I tend to just indulge in it. When I notice that I can’t seem to get into the flow, I just tend to try and surrender to those times because it’s a lot less stressful then pushing the matter. Definitely not an empty mantra by any means indeed. It’s powerful stuff!

    I think the weather also plays a big part, in fact when we were there, it was a nice 70-80 degrees there, so perfect whether in other words. It wasn’t crowded at all and i’m sorry you had to go through that, but i think you should atleast try it again maybe on a less crowded day like tuesday or thursday or just before halloween, like right when they first start decorating (night like a couple days before but like a few weeks before).

    Thanks buddy, its nice having you visit me!

    Blessings,
    Nick

Leave a Reply

