Chakra: Solar Plexis Chakra (Ego/Identity)

Today is the chakra one up from the creative chakra; the solar plexis chakra. This chakra in particular holds the most organs including the following:

  • Liver
  • Gallbladder
  • Spleen
  • Stomach
  • Pancreas
  • Diaphragm

I often find myself spinning this chakra whenever I have stomach pains, or if my stomach isn’t agreeing with me. It seems to help alot because it gets out any toxins that may be causing the stomach to go amuck. Like for instance, just this last weekend I went to six-flags and ended up spinning this to strengthen my solar plexis knowing I would be going on rides all day and because my stomach is weak verse rollar coasters, I knew it was going to need it. This wasn’t the only thing I did however (it isn’t the complete answer to prevent yourself from getting sick :P) I also strengthened my stomach meridian as well as taking ginger pills and dramamine. I wanted to make sure I wasn’t going to ruin my own day. ANYWAY.

This chakra in particular kind of governs your identity, or your ego as it is known to be, the who you take yourself to be part.

Color of the Chakra:

This chakra in particular is said to be the color that most say that it is, and that is Yellow. However I cannot verify this, I have to take Donnas word on it, since I do not see colors in chakras, I only feel what they feel like when I clean and harmonize them for other people, it tends to be dense and staticky when I deal with this chakra (at least what I’ve felt with myself and a few others.) Donna said that the lighter, more mellow yellow signifies that seems to be more of a pure and un-distorted version of the chakra, and the more bright and intense the color gets the more blistering and probably more into the “me” or “identity” one is.

Things to look at in this Chakra:

These are usually the opposite of the second chakra in terms of traits that are exhibited from it such as:

  • Logical over artistic
  • Sophisticated over child-like nature
  • Doctrinaire over organic
  • Cunning rather than innocent
  • Suspicious rather than trusting
  • Responsibility-bound rather than Flowing

These are all of the things that Donna has described as being part of this chakra, and it makes sense because all of these things seem to make up the identity with their want of control to label things for their own sense of order. She describes this chakra as being the “controlling parent” over the second chakra which she said was the “natural child.”

This Chakra is sometimes called the power chakra and with good reason, when not balanced it can totally cut one off from the second chakra which is our natural creative side. This is seen evident in the world with the people that are so wrapped up in their ego, that you can’t tell nor recognize their authentic self. They are constantly in a role like state, that you may see, but they do not see because they think the role they play is their real self. An overwhelming third chakra can bring about a person feeling tormented by self-judgement/hatred.

The Importance of Balancing this Chakra:

This sort of thing needs to be taken into special consideration because a healthy third chakra will not only benefit you bodily function wise, but may mellow out the identity urges (as in the need of self-judgement, condemnation, etc.). Making sure that both your second and third are both healthy is important because the object of the human being is that all the working parts are working together, not against each other just like the flow of water around rocks in a river. They don’t fight against each other but live harmoniously with each other.

Just be careful though not to glorify this chakra and strengthen only this and neglect the rest of the chakras. Each of the chakras have their importance and connecting them will keep not only your body balanced physically, but also emotionally.

Again, thanks to Donna Eden and her book Energy Medicine for supplying such phenomenal information on the chakras in such modern terminology which have allowed me to physical experience some of the things she has talked about. Her book can be found here:

Energy Medicine: Balancing Your Body’s Energies for Optimal Health, Joy, and VitalityUpdated and Expanded

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in chakras, Energy Medicine
2 comments on “Chakra: Solar Plexis Chakra (Ego/Identity)
  1. WONDERFUL ! THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART ~ GOD BLESS YOU !

  2. zenkitties says:

    Hey Peter,

    You’re very welcome my friend, I hope this article has helped you identify and come to know yourself a bit better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

