Walt Witman: Illusion

Of terrible doubt of appearances,
Of the uncertainty after all–that we may be deluded,
That may reliance and hope are but speculations after all,
That maybe identity beyond the grave is a beautiful fable only,
Maybe the things I perceive–the animals, plants, men, hills,
shining and flowing waters,
The skies of day and night–colors, densities, forms–
Maybe these are, (as doubtless they are,) only apparitions,
and the real something has yet to be known;
(How often they dart out of themselves,
as if to confound and mock me!
How often I think neither I know, nor any man knows,
aught of them.)

Walt Witman

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Walt Witman
2 comments on “Walt Witman: Illusion
  1. msayers says:

    Seems he rubbed off on ya. Me too! Think I might find some Whitman to read now. Who knew? Good to see you so actively engaged in this again, Nick. Unfortunately, my engagement is waning again. Buh!

  2. Hey mike! I know right, its so easy to see from his side though because it doesn’t have any work around like other types of thinking. It’s just very straight forward this is how it is kind of approach. I never knew Whitman to be over on that side, and I’m very delighted with all the different sources that Mckenna uses to engage his readers (including whitman). I agree, who did know there would be so much truth in everything around us. What really caught me off guard was his reference to Vanilla Sky, one of my favorite movies, in which I understood at a level that was probably past most who have seen the movie, but now i see the movie for what it is, and that’s intense haha.

    I guess all you have to look for is a pattern as to what your engagement to non-engagement is all about. Like Mckenna says there is always and underlying pattern of some sort. Thanks for stopping by Mike! =]

Leave a Reply

