Taking the “I” Seriously, Seriously?

What is there to take out of seriousness. Sometimes it will happen out of it’s nature when it needs to happen, but in most cases, this is not its’ nature. Chances are if you’re taking something seriously is it not what you are, but an idea or concept. In times like these it is an opportunity to investigate what is being taken seriously and where the root of it is. Is it because of some idea that has sprouted into a reaction from something that has been programmed into you? Chances are it isn’t you at all that’s reacting to something, even enquiring where the “I” is reveals that the enquiring mind is again just a thought. Where is it?

It is not something that is tangible to the touch, sight, ear. But if you truly see past the veil, you can feel it in your being (not with the body although there may be body sensation).

Every “I” has it’s own little qwirks and which one are you if you are one at all, how it changes depending on which roll it has to play for the time being, none of these I’s are you but what you naturally are encompasses all of these; they are like clouds in the sky.

Always see that everything you see externally is nothing more than a projection of everything you are internally, and this being said, there is no good or bad, things happen because they happen not because they are good or bad or because they are “karmic” to the human being that we’ve mistaken ourselves to be.

Bill Shakespeare once said, “There is nothing good or bad, but thinking makes it so.”

Good ol’ Bill, had an insight worth sharing, if nothing is good or bad, and everything just is as it is, seen as it should be seen instead of all the Judgments, then there is really no reason for reaction to ever take place.

Maybe reaction will continue to happen, but one could say its aware, what’s a aware?

Well I just don’t know! Investigate! πŸ™‚

Should we take the fake I seriously?

I won’t answer this with another question I promise, but consider whether it’s worth taking it seriously and how it benefits you inwardly. Does it bring about harmony within, or does it cause distress (toxic distress). My practice is that things come as they come, and dealing with them regardless of whether they are seen by conditioning as bad or good, will lead to the same location, although repression over acceptance often brings about the occurrance over and over until that part of you is accepted because you are naturally all encompassing of this.

Sometimes we are called to take it seriously, and sometimes we can let it go as just being a facade (in fact most of the time we can drop it as being a silly facade.) Nothing is really happening to a “me” that is affecting a “me”. This is why the master is always saying, “you are not the doer.” Those things happen but not personally to you, they just happen, regardless of whether you think you’re doing something to cause them or not.

Q: Then couldn’t I just do anything and not care?

A: Actually the opposite, when you see that nothing is being done to you nor are you doing anything, what meaning wouldn’t just doing anything have? There would be no need to do a thing, things would happen, and often the mind re-orchestrates to the point of just doing things that are with harmony in the present. You find you are not separate from things, and so a thankfulness and an acceptance happens. A deep silence pervades, see if this is true for you upon investigation!

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in awareness, ego, Mind
4 comments on “Taking the “I” Seriously, Seriously?
  1. msayers says:

    Been thinking about false self and ego and all that jazz a lot the last couple of days; to the point of writing about it. Think I will, actually, now that I’m all buzzin’ about it again.

    Anyway… ego, facade, projection, authentic self, all that junk is separation talk, no? Ego’s deluding itself, or taking itself to be something it isn’t. Who’s doing that? If it’s all one thing, and there’s really no division, then who’s dividing, and why does this division seem to be the fact of reality? Why is “reality” apparently hidden, and why do we split it up, and why do we “we”? Know whatta mean?

    BTW, these aren’t questions you have to answer… they’re rhetorical for me. I’m asking myself these silly questions all the time. Maybe I should go back to college so I’ll have something to occupy my mind with other than this bizarre madness. πŸ™‚

    Later Nick.

    Mike

  2. Pete Madstone says:

    Ahhh,

    What observes the I, and what is the observer. Is the I aware it is being observed?

    You pose questions for pondering, for examination. Some things need no answer, just consideration, eh?

    Thanks, Nick!

  3. Christine says:

    One of the major things I’ve been learning during this life is to not take myself so seriously. The less I do the happier and carefree I am. It’s like releasing a huge needless burden. πŸ™‚

  4. @mike haha, i know absolutely what you mean, and let me tell you, going to college probably wouldn’t keep you away from this stuff. πŸ˜›

    I definitely agree that the whole we stuff, ego, facade, is talk of duality and separation, however i’m not worried about it, it only can be pointed out in things the mind can comprehend (so out of convenience). Knowing there is truly no separation is the important part and it sounds like you have a strong feeling that there is something there to be investigated… all that other stuff is meaningless and rubbish.

    Thanks for stopping by mike, i always appreciate your input! πŸ™‚

    @Pete

    The I isn’t being observed, it is the seer, the concept of I is being observed of course, but whatever we are is something that is all inclusive, something that knows itself but at the same time does not know itself. Its the desert, not the grain of sand. No answers indeed, no questions even, like i said in an earlier post, they are both silly.

    @Christine

    Doesn’t if feel good to not have such a heavy burden of this feeling, “I am doing this, and this misery is happening.” But rather this is happening because it’s happening and things are working as they are. Seeing things as they are is much more refreshing! ❀

Leave a Reply

