Poem on Silence: Adyashanti

The waves of the mind
demand so much of Silence.
But she does not talk back
does not give answers nor arguments.
She is the hidden author of every thought
every feeling
every moment.

Silence.

She speaks only one word.
And that word is this very existence.
No name you give Her
touches Her
captures Her.
No understanding
can embrace Her.

Mind throws itself at Silence
demanding to be let in.
But no mind can enter into
Her radiant darkness
Her pure and smiling
nothingness.

The mind hurls itself
into sacred questions.
But Silence remains
unmoved by tantrums.
She asks only for nothing.

Nothing.

But you won’t give it to Her
because it is the last coin
in your pocket.
And you would rather
give her your demands than
your sacred and empty hands.

**

Everything leaps out in the celebration of mystery,
but only nothing enters the sacred source,
the silent substance.
Only nothing gets touched and becomes sacred,
realizes its own divinity,
realizes what it is
without the aid of a single thought.
Silence is my secret.
Not hidden.
Not hidden.

Adyashanti – Emptiness Dancing

This secret is no farther than merely being in the moment, you just have to be receptive to what is firmly and always has been in place. That you are not separate from the whole, that you are nothing in particular but you are all that is. You go beyond any concept and because of this, how could you reside only through the minds intellect. You are not those qualities, that you have been lead to believe, they are just mere by products of the personality. So let the personality play it’s game, it is all in good fun, but you need not be attached to that as your identity. You are at a much larger (or smaller) scale then that. This is why it’s so hard to put what you are in words… because the Truth does not take opposition into account because there is no opposition, there never was. Duality is an appearance, a phenomenal experience of the human being, but all experiences are like dreams, so watch the dream as if you were the sky and the dream were the cloud passing by. Do not try and hold the cloud in place and do not be sad that the cloud will move on, it is it’s nature to float on. See that it is you that you are looking for, seeking, and then seeking will drop away. See that you are not to be tied down, that you are the sky to the cloud, not the cloud to the sky.

You are Being, appearing as Human – Adyashanti

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in awareness
7 comments on “Poem on Silence: Adyashanti
  1. Mike says:

    Great post Nick. You are a wise one. I’m starting to warm up to Adya now. Didn’t like him at first, but I’m warming up. Thanks for the words, and hope you’re having a great weekend.

  2. Hey mike, i love that you’re diggin it and that you’re warming up to adyashanti… You know it’s weird because I felt the same way you did. I was very skeptical of Adya at first, i wasn’t sure how i was going to receive him, but i ended up buying his book and when i read it… for some reason he clicked with me instantly with me like a recognition of myself. Hes got a way about the teaching that just strikes me at the very being.

    Thanks for stopping by, I really enjoy your company on here! Also thank you for the compliments, but you wouldn’t of recognized that wiseness if you too didn’t have it within yourself. You too are that yeah? šŸ™‚ I always imagine some long bearded dude smokin a pipe having a grand ol time saying those things and not even me, maybe that’s who i really am? (joking) šŸ˜›

  3. Christine says:

    Very nice. I just finished reading Adyashanit’s The End of Your World today and really enjoyed it. It’s the fist book of his I read. Now can I borrow your copy of Emptiness Dancing? haha šŸ™‚

  4. If you want to, I could send over my copy to you if you send me over the end of your world, for tradesies for a little bit! šŸ™‚ It’s okay that i underlined some stuff though? Intereessstteeeeddd~~

  5. Christine says:

    Oh yeah, I’m interested! šŸ™‚ For the past few weeks I’ve had this idea of creating a nondualism bookswap, because you can’t just pick these types of books up at the library, and I really can’t afford to keep buying them. (You should see the self help/metaphysical/spirituality collection I have now!)

    I don’t mind underlined material. Mine is underlined and might have notes as well. If you’re interested, email me at mail@metaphysicaljunkie.com and we’ll set something up. Yay! šŸ™‚

  6. Yay, I sent you an e-mail christine, so we can figure out some details… My collection is doing well as well haha. Right now I’m reading back on Osho again haha. Usually when I become compelled to read a certain author, i’ll happen to grab like 3-5 of their books if i really like them. So i’m on 4-5 of Osho books. This will be my second Adya (but he also doesn’t have many out right now =[)

    Oh yeah, my e-mail is divineconscious@comcast.net

    Anyway can’t wait to hear from ya! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

