Not This, Not This : The Body

Today I’m going to be starting a new category in my blog… I’ve thought about this for a long time how I would peruse this category and I decided to call it Neti, Neti. (It translates into Not This, Not This) It will be a category hopefully that will proove itself useful in self exploration of True Nature. It will be further explained what I am doing as I go along, you will get the picture by reading the post.

How Am I Not the Body?

Since when have I ever been the body… at what time can I say that I am the body, where does it start, or where has it begun. Let us take ourselves back to child birth. When is it that you first remember you were the body, was it when you were in the womb of your mother? Would it not have to be this far back? If I was the body, then the memory of exiting out of the womb should be clear enough or would it? The brains neural connections have not been made yet, however the body had to of survived somehow, something kept that body alive after birth, breathing…sleeping…taking in food, etc.

Can I remember my own birth? I cannot, so how can I say that I was born, was the body? Was I not still who i was when I was my fathers sperm, but was I not still who I was when I was my mothers egg. I was both but one at the same time. So where was I more dominantly, who is to say which one i was or was not? I have no experience of this to say.. I was there otherwise the bodies birth would not have been possible.

Is it even logical to say that I am me (the personality)? As like the above example I powered both the sperm and the egg into existance at the right moment of creation of the body that I’m experiencing. Without the parents as catalyst surely it would of been no problems, I would of been there still and I would of created still. Those two parents had produced this body, but another two parents produced those two parents, and so on…. (do you see where I’m going) So it isn’t even like I can say this body is mine… but rather this body belongs to existance itself, to humanity itself. That every body is connected through existance.

The bodies very cells go on shifting, changing, ever constant. The bodies cells at birth are not the same ones (not a single one) that I had when the body was born. However, this does not matter, I have always been here, I have not changed, do not be fooled by the bodies appearance, I have always been here. The bodies cells change up every 7 years, but daily cells live and die by their nature to better keep the body regulated and natural.

Next, the body takes in food, which then turns into body. Here is what I mean by food. Anything from the gross substance to thoughts, concepts, habits, mechanisms, etc. These are all food for the body, but these are not who I am, if those thoughts and concepts wain, or if the habits diminish, I am. I can observe those things diminish, and eventually dissapear, and I am still wholy there watching, in silence. When thought is gone, when the mind settles, when the body is in deep sleep, I am still there watching over, keeping the body alive.

If the bodies limb was severed, say I got into a bull fight and was gored at the arm, and it got infected and had to be removed for the bodies survival. Would I not still be who I am? the arm does not dictate that I am different without it. Even the brain still functions as if the arm is there through other parts of the body. I am still observing this, the body, it makes no difference. If the leg were then severed, would I still not be who I am. Who can dictate to me and tell me at what point I am not who I am?

So with all of this evidence, all of this experience of the bodies constant shift, and that I can observe all of these shifts, what is the body really, other than a beautiful experience of divine love (and I know that the wording is distortion to the Truth)

So… What Am I? Who Am I?

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in awareness, neti neti

Leave a Reply

