Me and I, The Seperation.

There is one major roadblock in the journey of self enquiry and it seems to be associations. All association brings one back to the question of its source whether the hint is heeded depends at what stage and at what level of consciousness they are at in the “egos” timeline. I say the ego with parenthesis because it isn’t real to put it simply, it only resides on the fact that you believe that it is a reality. It is the individual reality that say, “I am this” or “I am that” even though upon questioning such a state you will find this isn’t the case. How can you be something that you can directly observe? You objectify yourself with something that you are not because of fear of loss of the “known”. I do not say the unknown because how can you be afraid of what you do not know.  Infact your True Nature is of unkown quality and how comforting that is, that it can go beyond anything that is finite and bound in time. 

It’s intrigueing because this leads to the question of “how does the me even arise or what is the difference between me and I then?” Most people use these two words interchangably, but they are not the same thing. The “me” or “my” can never be constant, it deals with the illusion that an ego exists or that the individual exists. The me resides in the I but the I does not reside in the me, it is not possible. It is like saying the ocean is part of the wave when this relationship is incorrect, but infact the wave resides in the ocean. It is only an illusion that the me exists and this is where desire is rooted that the me feels it needs something to fulfill itself not knowing that it is what it wants. This thought of the body is part of the reason the me exists, that there is attachment to the body as being you. This is also not possible, how can you observe what you are? You can test it out yourself, merely what the body, feel its reactions and the thoughts that channel through it, observe the sensations the body gives off, this is not you. Infact the body is in you, merely observing it shows that you are not it nor are you thought that comes in goes, because if you were that thought you would no longer be present as soon as the thought dissolved or resolved. It is only the “me” that attaches to these things.

This is what Jesus is talking about when he states, “blessed are the poor in spirit” that you are not truly blessed until the illusion of the me is gone and you are awakened to the I, that nothing exists outside of the Absolute, that God is the dancer, and the many (all creation) is merely the dance or illusion. How beautiful is that?

Now to have a few words on the I, the True Nature. First lets be clear, that anything that is said will not be fully truth as words are only a personal representation, That the writer behind these thoughts are a doppleganger of the Truth, that the truth cannot be explained in words. The I or your true nature is everlasting, it does not cease as it was never born. How can one cease when one never existed. You are free from birth and death. You were only programmed to believe that you were the body, but you only know this from second hand information, you never directly experienced that bodies birth. You were definitely there because the body would not of been born had you not been there, you are that life force that sustained that body and you will be after the body dies. You are eternal and timeless, but this is very important, take not that you must understand. I say this with utmost love that YOU ARE WHAT YOU CANNOT POSSIBLY UNDERSTAND.

 

The question always comes down to, “Who Am I?” The answer is in the question… I don’t know, how can you possibly know, this implies that it is an object, when Your True Nature is objectless, it is actually free from objectivity or non-objectivity, from conceptualisation or perceptualisation. It is that state of Not Knowing that you follow, the I don’t know leads to Truth. You cannot possibly know because it goes beyond the mind in which is trapped in space and time.

The body is part of the me, say the body were to lose a limb, are you any less I then you were before? This is not so, You are still aware and present, nothing has changed, you are unnaffected by the bodies change in figure. When the body goes into a deep sleep, where are you then? You Are.

 

This is all that can be said on the level of “Me” and I. Maybe more expounding will happen later, but i felt that something had to be written since there had been nothing for so long. More later.

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in ego, Mind

Leave a Reply

