Upcoming Thoughts

See? I told you I would be back eventually. Although I’m not sure when I’ll actually get around to doing the following blogs, but sometime soon, I promise. I’ve come up with several topics in which I think would be beneficial to some or interesting to read. I’ve compiled them in terms of what would be most useful in daily practice as well as maybe a look at “Who Am I?” I have recently been giving this alot of thought for myself as it is one of the most important questions that can be fully grasped. What more important question can you ask yourself then to ask Who You Are, where do you come from, what is your origin? Some may be quick to answer with a label, which is only a label this is not you, you’ve only agreed to this out of ignorance (and not just you, everyone does, we are fed since we were told that we were born or that we are a body) Who Am I is a wake up call, it’s a call to awaken from the mechanical reaction of ignorance. This led me to one of the main topics I will discus.

Separating the Me from I : This will challenge alot of ideas that people may have about who they think they are, and what their True Nature is (This is the I). See the I has been attached to the Me for so long that we use them interchangably, but they aren’t the same thing, the I is pure in state for lack of better words. The Me deals with the illusion of the ego, this is what this post will touch on.

Inner Peace and Meditation: I am in no way a master of meditation nor have I taken classes on it, but I do have background in performing it and spending time withthe absolute, allowing the bodies thoughts to drift without attaching to them, focusing on one particular question, “Who Am I?” This question is often used because it takes you back to your True Nature State. I will discuss this perhaps separate or in unison with Inner Peace in which was brilliantly suggested by the lovely Liz Madsen. Inner peace is derived from the amount of Awareness one has with their True Nature and how to observe the mechanics of the body and “me” mechanic. Merely switching the mind to focus as an observer and not attaching to the me allows detachment to naturally take place. 

Selfishness and Selflessness: There is a book that I’ve been going through on Awareness itself and there is a section about selfishness and he states bluntly and clearly about the different states of selfishness. It caught my eye because the thought was associated so much with this identity in the past that I just have to do a piece on it. I will quote sections as well as explain them further to hopefully better your understanding. This one may be hard to swallow because it shatters alot of “me” concepts especially in the works of charity or servitude. This is not a piece saying that servitude is bad but rather looking at it in a more pure stand point.

“Never condemn a man for his good austerities as long as its leading to the Absolute (God/Brahma), who is to say his way is not the right way, just because you chose a different way”

This thought always seems to prevade other thoughts when people talk to me about specific ways to come to God or to have a deep relationship with the Ineffible Absolute. It seems some are so caught up in their way that they judge any other way. WAKE UP!

Greed: This topic is still in the cooking stages, It is completely solvable, as there isn’t much to it but putting it into a more practicle use might be the hang up. See Greed is based on “me” and “my” and the sense that there is an ego. The ego is illusion and greed is just as much an illusion as the ego. Its a feeling from ignorance or comes from the notion of keeping the body (because most attach themselves to the body as being their property or theirs) secure and stable. Merely getting rid of the illusion is the simplest solution, but many would not think its a practicle everyday solution because “We have a mortgage to pay” =P So This one is still being cooked up, but definitely on the list. 

Attachment and Detachment: A very well known Christian Mystic who went by the name Meister Eckhart (which can be seen in modern philosophies such as Eckhart Tolle) discussed this in dept in his teachings. It is a very important subject to look at as it deals with one of Jesus most played out virtues, “Being in the World, but not of the World.” People say that it is impossible, but it is not impossible at all. The thought of the impossibility leads to the existence of the possibility. Detachment to many seems like something cold and hardened but its actually the complete opposite. It leads one to make creative decisions, and extinguishes the very root of judgement, it allows creative Love to exist, and it extinguishes the individual suffering (or the individual which then the question of suffering never arises). Without detachment, the body-mind suffering will continue, until the ignorance is extinguished. 

 

So hopefully this gives you guys a little bit more of idea what I’ve been cooking up over the past week or so (although I’ve been busy with class and will continue to be busy for the next coupld of weeks, hecka failed my finance 120 test, so i have to double back haha) Anyway just giving the interested a heads up on what to expect in the coming months (or month depending how busy the body is)

Nick Myers, a 28 year old serial blogger. Also minimalist, zen participant, philosopher, author of Emotional Alchemist, and tea disciple. I am one who sees a potential lesson in every experience in life. Life is who we are and life is our ultimate guru. I seek to bring us together through our own shared experiences. And hope to not only learn deeply who I am but to learn deeply who others are by dropping my ideas from moment to moment about you.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Contemplation, suffering

Leave a Reply

